LWV logo gif
Alabama Supreme Court
Voter Guide 2006

Nonpartisan information about the Alabama Supreme Court and the
2006 general election candidates running for seats on that court

flag bar gif
Appleseed Logo

The Candidates

Candidates in the 2006 Alabama Supreme Court election were asked to provide biographical information, educational and professional qualifications, and answers to seven fundamental, nonpartisan questions. Answers were limited to 250 words per question and are re-printed verbatim. Candidate names are listed in the order in which they will appear on the ballot.

Click on a picture or name to read about that candidate.

Chief Justice
Sue Bell Cobb jpg Sue Bell Cobb
Drayton Nabers, Jr. jpg Drayton Nabers, Jr.

Associate Justice, Place 1
Champ Lyons jpg Champ Lyons, Jr.
Justice Lyons is running unopposed on November 7.

Associate Justice, Place 2
Gwenolyn Thomas Kennedy jpg Gwendolyn Thomas Kennedy
Tom Woodall jpg Tom Woodall

Associate Justice, Place 3
Albert L. 'Al' Johnson jpg Albert L. 'Al' Johnson
Lyn Stuart jpg Lyn Stuart

Associate Justice, Place 4
John H. England, Jr. jpg John H. England, Jr.
Glenn Murdock jpg Glenn Murdock
Neither the League of Women Voters of Alabama Education Fund nor the Alabama Appleseed Center for Law and Justice endorses any political candidate or party. The information presented here is intended solely for the education of Alabama voters. Responses are printed verbatim as submitted by the candidates.